Contributor: Tasha

Connection: Person with type 1 diabetes (diagnosed in 1999)

Standout Quote: “I’m not really sure how I’m doing. Some days are great, and I feel like I can do this… and some days I eat too much or I binge drink, and my sugars are everywhere and I think, “Man, I CAN’T do this”. […] I feel like I’m just getting into working over my denial and guilty feelings, and […] really making [diabetes] part of me and my life. […] For a long time I tried to hide it from people, like “Oh, don’t worry about it.” But I DO worry about it. And I try my best every day. I’m not perfect – I have never been perfect!”

Comments on: "Video: “Blondie’s Adventure”" (4)

  1. Tasha,

    Your video is so so so powerful. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself. My daughter is coming up on 2 years with diabetes and she’s 11. I hope when she’s your age she will be able to speak as honestly and movingly about her experience as you have. I know your video will help many people out there. It’s already helped me. Thank you.

    Shannon

  2. Tasha

    Thanks sooooooo much for sharing, I have two sons with diabetes type 1, age 7 and 9,diagonised at age 2 and 3years old. And if they are able to see things the way you do at 22, I will be so lucky. Your story was touching especially when you talk about your mom b.c I worry about my boys the same. Thank you,your story really makes a difference.:)

    Jessica
    jezzy99rivera@gmail.com

  3. Thank you for your video. Your honesty is refreshing. Diabetes sucks and it’s always there. But, thanks to you and Kim and all of the other amazing videos, I finally feel like I’m not alone in this. WE CAN DO THIS!

  4. Thanks for sharing !!!! I’m 23 and was diagnosed in 1999, when I was 11. So much of your story reminded me of myself, for so long I have tried to “ignore” the disease and made it to be “no big deal”. I’m beginning to realize now just how big of a deal it is. Thanks again for sharing !!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

