Video: Amber

Contributor: Amber

Connection: Person with type 1 diabetes; diagnosed as an adult one year ago

Standout Quote: “I had no idea how tricky this was going to be. When I do everything by the book and my blood sugars didn’t cooperate […] I had all these feelings of failure and guilt, and maybe I can’t do this. Maybe I’m just destined to have all of the complications that come with diabetes. [But] that’s where the diabetes online community came in – I’ve learned that diabetes doesn’t always follow the rules and everyone has bad days, but there are more good days than bad. And on the bad days, there’s always someone who has been there and understands, and can give advice without any kind of judging.”

Leave a Reply

