Blog: Simon

Contributor: Simon; www.diabetesdaily.com/forum/blogs/simon-from-the-70s

Connection: Person with type 1/LADA diabetes

Blog post: http://www.diabetesdaily.com/forum/blogs/simon-from-the-70s/5909-journey-man

“This is how my ten days in hospital with life threatening infections and severe DKA played out. All but blind and with limited mobility, I came face to face not only with insulin dependent diabetes but the reality that those I had long counted friends had abandoned me. I was no ordinary person then and 18 months later I am still no ordinary person.

Still enduring a string of medical appointments and physical pain from complications I am making a go of things. Working consecutive sixty hour weeks I’m sending out a signal to those “friends” who left me lying in ward. It’s a shout out to all of those who said I’d never make it back and it was all my fault…..I can do this and I am doing this.”

Leave a Reply

